

ARYA National Championships 2018 International One Metre 15 – 18 February 2018 Montrose Bay, Hobart, Tasmania

February in Hobart is generally regarded as one of the best months for stable weather, typically warm days with a Northerly in the morning followed by a SE sea breeze in the afternoon, so when the first day of the IOM championships began at Montrose Bay in extremely windy conditions it took everyone by surprise.

After a brief flirt with B Rigs the fleet quickly changed down to C and remained in that configuration for the remainder of day one. The wind averaged 27 knots gusting to 40, producing some hairy downwind sailing as boats ploughed down big waves flitting left and right to avoid nosedives. On upwind reaches yachts were almost flattened. Fortunately, there were no high speed collisions, although local Peter Sylvester ran out of luck when the force of his hull hitting a wave caused the battery hatch to pop off and the yacht, instantly taking on water, promptly sank.

After four races (three heats per race), the day finished with the best national skippers showing their class with Greg Torpy (Qld) in first place followed by Sean Bennett (WA) and Paul Jones (NSW). The international contingent of seven New Zealand skippers were also starting to find form with Philip Pryde and Paul Johnson advancing through the rankings.

Day two again commenced in windy conditions, but the weather moderated during the morning with skippers switching to B Rigs at lunchtime, and remained in that configuration for the rest of the day.

Principal Race Officer, Jeff Byerley, used all his international experience and knowledge of local conditions to maintain courses that were true taking into account wind strengths, shifts and significant tidal currents. The starting line was made longer to maximise the number of boats with a fair start. Windward marks and the downwind gate were laid according to average wind direction, and well spaced, to allow helms to develop a feel for the course. In turn, this allowed for tactical decision making around opponents, gusts, shifts, currents and waves, resulting in exciting racing with plenty of changes in places right up to the finish line.

By the end of the second day Paul Jones (NSW) had moved into first place on 21 points ahead of Sean Wallis and Ross Bennett, both from WA, tied on 25 points. Greg Torpy (Qld) and Scott Condie (NSW) rounded out the top five on another tie of 27 points and the championship was still wide open.

Day three commenced with a good news story as a diver rose from the depths with Peter Sylvester's sunken boat held aloft Excalibur like. On the racecourse we saw an engrossing day of sailing, mostly on B Rigs, but strong winds returned with a change in the afternoon causing skippers to go back down to C Rigs as a result.

The top three places (Ross Bennett, Paul Jones and Scott Condie) all finished the day on a tie of 45 points with Sean Wallis (48 points) still in the hunt. Greg Torpy started to lose touch on 75 points as a result of gear failure. The New Zealand challenge, which had started to pick up momentum on day two, also faltered through gear problems and complete absence of luck for Philip Pryde in particular who managed to chew through four winches.

A calm day with a gentle NNW breeze greeted skippers on the last day of competition, replacing, at last, the unrelenting strong winds that prevailed over the first three.

Naturally, A Rigs were on as racing got underway, but as the breeze picked up rigs dropped back to B.

The four skippers competing for the national champion commenced the day well taking out the top places in the first two races and the prize remained anyones as the fleet broke for lunch.

After lunch the wind swung to the SE, which generally means more pressure and resulted in a change in the orientation of the course for skippers. Only Paul Jones retained his consistency with Condie, Wallis and Bennett all falling out of the top placings in the heats.

By the start of the final race Paul Jones was four points clear, and in reality, only he himself could lose the championship from there with a bad race. It wasn't to be – Paul retained the consistency he is renowned for to take out the trophy by nine points ahead of Scott Condie, Sean Wallis and Ross Bennett who were tied on 56 points. The tie break count back saw them finish in that order.

The 2018 National Championships in Hobart was a thorough examination of radio sailing skill – skippers were tested in all environments and with all three rigs. The top placegetters can rightly claim to be champions in the International One Metre class, and consistency was the greatest factor in Paul Jones deserved victory.

Most skippers also remarked that the Montrose Bay facility provided world class conditions for radio sailing with a configuration that allowed for true courses to be set in any winds, and an elevated shoreline for skippers to adequately sail their crafts with good visibility.

Final results:

1 Paul Jones (NSW) - 47 points 2 Scott Condie (NSW) – 56 3 Sean Wallis (WA) - 56 4 Ross Bennett (WA) – 56 5 Greg Torpy (Qld) – 119.2 6 Lindsay Walker (NSW) - 140 7 Philip Pryde (NZ) - 156 8 Lisa Blackwood (Tas) - 157.3 9 Paul Johnson (NZ) - 163 10 Aaron Farrar (Qld) – 171 11 Michael Hickman (Tas) - 187 12 Andrew Reid (Vic) - 190 13 Rod Jackman (Tas) - 192 14 John Cole-Cook (Tas) – 215 15 Ben Taylor (NSW) – 218 16 Edgar Vitte (WA) – 222 17 Chris Wood (Tas) - 229 18 Patrick Parisienne (Vic) – 231 19 Ray Joyce (Tas) - 255.3 20 Andrew Wilson (Qld) – 260 21 Robert Mews (WA) - 275 22 Bruce Edgar (NZ) - 282 23 Scott Fleming (VIC) – 298 24 Peter Buchanan (WA) - 307

25 Doug Allen (Qld) - 318 26 Jerry Brower (USA) – 332 27 David Jones (Tas) - 335 28 John Beavis (NZ) - 387 29 Peter Sherwood (Qld) - 404 30 Russell Gray (Qld) - 408 31 John Gower (Qld) - 415 32 Richard Harradine (NSW) - 433 33 Allan Walker (Qld) - 440 34 Nigel Sibun (NZ) - 449.6 35 Kyle Stewart (Tas) - 475 36 Norm Wallis (SA) – 502 37 John Obrien (NZ) - 525 38 Peter Burford (Qld) - 537 39 Ants Hurdley (NZ) – 538 40 Ray Wilson (Qld) - 552 41 Stephen Early (Vic) - 554 42 Michael Cosgriff (Vic) - 625 43 Peter Darcey (Tas) 630 44 David Page (NSW) - 643 45 Phillip Page (NSW) - 679 46 Brian Long (VIC) - 709 47 Rod Marshall (Tas) - 719 48 Peter Sylvester (Tas) - 732

Robert Gavin with input from Paul Johnson (New Zealand) and PRO Jeff Byerley 7 March 2018